TCP Packet Explained

TCP (Transmission Control Protocol) is a highly reliable host-to-host protocol to support multiple network systems, which is documented in RFC 793. Below I have mentioned the structure of the TCP packet.

tcp packet

TCP Packet contains the following fields

  • Source Port and Destination Port fields (16 bits each) - Source and Destination port number
  • Sequence Number field (32 bits) - sequence number of the first data byte or data octet
  • Acknowledgment Number field (32 bits)
  • Data Offset field (variable length) - indicates the starting point of data
  • Reserved field (6 bits) - kept for future use and must be zero.
  • Flags field (6 bits - URG, ACK, PSH, RST, SYN, FIN) - signifies different flags
  • Window field (16 bits) - mention the window size of the sender
  • Checksum field (16 bits) - to ensure the integrity
  • Urgent pointer field (16 bits) - point to urgent data type
  • Options field (variable length) - multiple options
  • Data field (variable length)

Subscribe us to receive more such articles updates in your email.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments section below. Nothing gives me greater joy than helping my readers!

Disclaimer: This tutorial is for educational purpose only. Individual is solely responsible for any illegal act.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

OWASP API Top 10 - 2023 7 Facts You Should Know About WormGPT OWASP Top 10 for Large Language Models (LLMs) Applications Top 10 Blockchain Security Issues What is Cyber Warfare?